Practices in Tantra

Exact Match








Guru Gorakhnath was one of the famous practitioner of Tantra Cult.Tantra defines that only a person who is blind towards others money, impotent towards others wife, dumb towards others criticism, and has perfect control over all his senses is eligible to practice Vamachar and follow Vama Marg (the path through Vamachar).

In Dakshinachar, the five modes of tantra are to be studied deeply and their divine meaning is to extracted, while in case of Vamachar, the five modes are practiced in the literal sense.
Vama Marg is usually followed by the practiceners of the Shakt cult (worshippers of Shakti or Mother Goddess of energy). Vamaachar is divided into five disciplines:

  1. Kaulik
  2. Vama
  3. Neech
  4. Siddhant
  5. Shakar.

Kaulik is further subdivided into:

  • Uttam
  • Madhyam and
  • Kanishta.
The worship of nine forms of energy (Shri kali, Tara, Shri Shodasi, Bhuvaneshwari, Tripuram Bhairavi, Chinnamasta, Dhumavati, Baglamukhi, Matangi and Kamala) is highly prevalent in Tantra.
The followers of the Shaiva cult (followers of Lord Shiva) worship spirits. Tantra is also of three types i.e. Satvik, Rajasi and Tamas.


Copyright ©2000 All rights reserved.
By using this service, you accept that you won't copy or use the data given in this website for any commercial purpose.
The material on is for informational & educational purpose only.
This site is best viewed at 800 X 600 picture resolution.