A Brief Summary of India - Part IV

Exact Match
  Location & Extent


  Mountain ranges
  The Himalayas

  The Desert


  Deccan rivers

  People and



Home | States and Union Territories | National Insignia | Festivals of India | Religions | Elating Facts

The Brahmaputra is one of the most important waterways of southern Asia. It rises on the northern slopes of the Himalaya in Tibet. After flowing about 2,700 kilometres through northeastern India and Bangladesh, it joins the Ganges (Ganga) River, with which it shares the Ganges Delta. The northern part of the river has many names. It is sometimes called Yarlung Zangbo in Tibet. 

Boats can sail up the river about 1,300 kilometres, but cannot go farther because of rapids. A bridge erected in 1963 crosses the river near Gauhati, India. 

The valley of the Brahmaputra, in Assam, has fertile farmland. Large crops of tea, rice, and jute grow there. In the rainy season, the river floods much of the valley, providing natural irrigation for rice growers. The principal branches of the Brahmaputra are the Lohit, Dibong, Dihong, and Subansiri rivers.

The Deccan rivers denuding their beds for long geological days have developed flat valleys with low gradients. The major deccan rivers are the Godavari, the Krishna, the Cauvery, the Pennar, the Mahanadi, the Damodar, the Sharavati, the Netravati, the Bharataphuza, the Periyar, the Pamba, the Narmada and the Tapti. They contribute about 30% of the total outflow in India. These rivers are entirely rain-fed and shrink into rivulets during the hot season.


Copyright ©2000 indiansaga.info. All rights reserved.
By using this service, you accept that you won't copy or use the data given in this website for any commercial purpose.
The material on indiansaga.info is for informational & educational purpose only.
This site is best viewed at 800 X 600 picture resolution.